Bethel High School’s “Footloose” Musical Wins Best Contemporary Musical Award

Report by Paula Antolini, May 29, 2019, 11:18PM EDT

Last night the 2019 Halo High School Theater Awards were announced at the Palace theater in Waterbury, CT, and Bethel High School won “Best Contemporary Musical”  for the school’s performance of Footloose the Musical. Also BHS student Riley Finn won the Halo “Up & Coming” Award.

Eight Halo Award nominations were received by BHS in total via the Seven Angels Theater, including:

Best Running Crew: Bethel High School: Run Crew of Footloose,

Best Stage Management: Bethel High School: Lindsey Waters (PSM), Kim Yuen & Isaiah Hope (ASMs) for Footloose,

Best Dancing: Bethel High School: Footloose

Best Choreographer: Bethel High School: Joe Bagala for Footloose

Best Chorus: Bethel High School: Footloose

Best Performance by a Supporting Actor in a Musical: Bethel High School: Brian Salvador as Rev. Shaw Moore in Footloose

Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a Contemporary Musical: Bethel High School: Riley Finn as Ren McCormack in Footloose

Best Contemporary Musical: WINNER Bethel High School: Footloose

The Annual High School Halo Awards honors high school students’ achievements in all aspects of theatre. Over 60 high schools from across the State of Connecticut are participating in the 16th Annual Halo Awards this year! Award evenings will be at the Palace Theater in Waterbury on May 28, May 29 and June 3.

The Awards are a Gala Red Carpet Event for the participating students and their family and friends. Awards are given in numerous categories including: Best Actor and Actress in a Musical/Play, Best Supporting Actor and Actress in a Musical/Play, Best Performance by the Cast in an Ensemble Production, Best Comic Actor and Actress in a Musical/Play, Best Student Choreographer, plus categories for lighting, design, stage management, special effects, and many more. One of the highlights of the evening is the presentation of the Gypsy Robe, which is given to a chorus member nominated by the director from the school awarded Best Chorus.  For tickets call the box office at 203-757-4676.

VIDEO: Announcement of award: