0

Byrd’s Books Upcoming January Events: Knitting Night, Book Group, Movies Historian, and Writing Workshop

Report by Paula Antolini
January 15, 2018 10:43AM EDT

 

Byrd’s Books Upcoming January Events: Knitting Night, Book Group, Movies Historian, and Writing Workshop

Byrd’s Books, located at 126 Greenwood Avenue, Bethel, CT, has organized many great events that will take place this month:

*****

Art

Knitting Night

Jan. 16, 6:30 PM – 9 PM

Location: 126 Greenwood Avenue, Bethel, CT

Public · Hosted by Byrd’s Books

Join us for a night of knitting together. Do you have a project? Need ideas? I’ll put on the tea.

*****

Literature

Book group: The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict

Thursday at 7:30 PM – 9 PM

Public · Hosted by Byrd’s Books

Location: 126 Greenwood Avenue, Bethel, CT

“The Other Einstein takes you into Mileva’s heart, mind, and study as she tries to forge a place for herself in a scientific world dominated by men.”-Bustle

In the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein’s enormous shadow. It is the story of Einstein’s wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight.

Our is an open Book Group- join us!

*****

Film

And You Thought You Knew Classic Movies! with John DiLeo

Jan. 21, Sunday at 2 PM – 5 PM

Location: The Palace Danbury, 165 Main Street, Danbury, CT

Tickets Available: thepalacedanbury.com

This January join us at Danbury’s Palace Theatre when film historian John DiLeo presents AND YOU THOUGHT YOU KNEW CLASSIC MOVIES: A Film Journey Through Hollywood and America. Byrd’s Books is the bookseller for John’s books at this wonderful multimedia event!

John DiLeo presents a fun, informative and idiosyncratic history of Hollywood’s Golden Age, while telling a parallel story of America itself. From the Depression to World War II to the Cold War to the sexual revolution, DiLeo presents a vision of just how the movies traveled from 1930 to 1970.

 

*****

Literature

Best Children’s Books of 2017

Tuesday, January 23 at 7 PM – 9 PM
Public · Hosted by Byrd’s Books
Location: 126 Greenwood Avenue, Bethel, CT
Please join us as Byrd’s Books hosts Robert Zupperoli as he presents the Best Children’s Books of 2017. This is a comprehensive presentation with slide show and book samples designed for educators, but wonderful for all adults to learn about some of the best in children’s books of 2017.
This event is free and open to all.
Materials for hand-outs will be available for those who register- please use “tickets” link HERE.
###

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.